Gugong (the Forbidden City)

Gugong

I didn’t get to see too much of the Forbidden City because we got there just a few hours before closing time. Dr. Z and I made our way through a number of pottery and ceramic exhibits, though I found the calligraphy and scrolls to be the most interesting.

I spent the most time in front of a particular scroll that unfurled horizontally. It was hard not to be moved by the calligraphy. Transfixed, I began to see how intimate and sensual the brushstrokes were – one could imagine the movement of the artist, the change in pressure on the brush, the delicate movements that created the elegant curvature and elongation of the calligraphy. I admired this scroll more than once and then, only for as long as I could bear.

Leave a Reply

